Heart Chakra… Love Conquers All

Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra. This says it all. The heart chakra is the wellspring of love, warmth, compassion, and joy. It is located in the center of the chest at the heart level and moves love through your life. It is the center of your deep bonds with other beings, your sense of caring and compassion, your feelings of self-love, altruism, generosity, kindness, and respect. When it’s blocked everything, i.e. empathy, compassion, self-love or acceptance is virtually impossible or unavailable. This blockage sometimes comes from our Western definition of our emotions and the primary emotion that blocks the heart is grief.


heart chakra

The Western Heart

Imagine a human heart, perfect and functioning, warm, caring and full of love, like a child. Then someone comes along and breaks this heart through carelessness, greed, anger, envy, etc. In Western Culture, you’re pretty much doomed. Our western view of the emotions and the matters of heart do not include hardship, pain, failure or healing. So our model is that once this heart is broken; it can never be the same again. This interesting thought shows up in my office more often than you may realize; things like illness and dis-ease. Because people were told that they would never be the same by an authority figure, they believed it. And then set about creating some interesting “metaphors” to show the world they have been hurt. They have heart attacks, weak hearts, aneurysms, and the list goes on. If only they knew they were mistaken about this model.

heart chakra

The Eastern Heart

Now imagine that same heart in an Eastern culture. That heart will never be open and available until some kind person breaks the shell off of it to reveal the sweetness inside that can only be revealed by living, failing and other common occurrences called life. It’s an interesting paradigm shift that’s worth considering. I had not heard this analogy until I was well into my 50’s (I guess I’m slow, lol) it made a HUGE difference in my life and how I consider those learning experiences that we call living. 

In Eastern culture, when those inevitable mistakes made by inexperienced adults and teenagers, they are expected. How much better off would be if we knew that there are many loves, types of loves and multitudes of relationships possible? And what if we gave ourselves a lifetime to discover them?


heart chakra

Heart Chakra Definition

The Heart Chakra or Anahata is an integrating and unifying chakra – bringing to wholeness – as such, it is your healing center. Indeed, most spiritual traditions recognize love as the ultimate healing force. The energy of Anahata allows us to recognize that we are part of something larger, that we are interconnected within an intricate web of relationships extending through life and the universe.

Anahata allows us to recognize and get in touch with the sacred and fundamental truth that runs through all of life and connects everything together. It means living your life with loving kindness and compassion towards others. It means that your heart is open to others and you inspire kindness and compassion in others. You create a safe and supportive environment. People feel at peace around you, as there is no judgment coming from you.

When Anahata is open and energy is flowing freely, you are not only loving others but, also loving to your self. You know when you need to say no and when you need care and self-nurturing. Open to love is to reach to the deepest places and connect with our essence, our spirit, and our soul. (source: https://www.chakra-anatomy.com/heart-chakra.html)

heart chakra


Grief or emotional distress is often wrapped up in the language of physical maladies: Being heartsick, sick with grief, heartbroken. The Old English word for grief, heartsarnes, literally means soreness of the heartheartache originates from the Old English heortece, originally used to refer to heart disease. The words hurt and pain can apply equally to the suffering of the mind or of the body.   

“You know when you hear about an older couple and one of the spouses dies, and then a short time afterward, even though the other one was relatively healthy, they die [as well]?” Anna Phillips, a professor of behavioral medicine at the University of Birmingham’s School of Sport, Exercise, and Rehabilitation Sciences said. “We wanted to get into the science behind that and see how this effect of bereavement was getting inside the body and speeding up mortality. (source: https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/09/understanding-how-grief-weakens-the-body/380006/)

heart chakra

The Trance Exercise

As in the other examples, i.e. Base, Sacral/Sex and Breath Chakra articles, I’d like you to begin in a neutral space. This space is completely neutral as in you just got up from a nap, completed a long project and haven’t begun another; it’s neutral and there is nothing going on of importance.

Think about the part of yourself that manages your grief. Things you think are lost, broken, unattainable or were taken away. These emotions are stored inside of you, so ask the part of yourself that watches over these “mistakes” to bring them out. I’ve done a lot of personal grief work so this particular time it wasn’t quite so alarming as the very first time I did this work a couple of years ago. Your experiences may vary.

Let those images, sounds, and feelings just do what they need to do, remembering that these are memories and not happening in real time. Take breaks if needed. The typical session for grief work in trance seems to be about an hour of solid “in trance” time and can go longer if needed.

heart chakra

Rain Clouds

You can use any method of disposal you like, I seem to favor water. Water is one of the most powerful elements, in terms of it’s destructive and corrosive nature. Nothing can hold back water given enough time. I use rain clouds and gentle rain to signal it’s time for these remembered events to go away after having their 15 minutes.

I imagine the gentle rain shirking and melting the memories into puddles. The puddles join together to form rivulets. The rivulets join together to form a stream that flows away from me and downstream. Where they go isn’t important to me as away is. If where they go is important to you, create a metaphor (beforehand) that will allow the process to move forward without interruption.

heart chakra

Connect the Heart Chakra

Once the Heart Chakra is cleared of grief and sorrow you must connect it to the rest of you. Sit down on the floor and imagine that your base chakra can connect to the center of the earth. Feel that connection and allow that energy to rise up to the sacral/sex chakra. From the sacral chakra push the energy up to the solar plexus/breath chakra. From the breath chakra, push the energy up to the heart. 

Feel your heart chakra engage. Let the warmth of your heart radiate up and out of your body until you fill the space you are in with love. Love for yourself, including all of your mistakes and shortcomings as well as your strengths. Filling yourself up first and then extending love to others means that you always have enough to go around with no depletion.

heart chakra
helping hand giving to drowning man in sea

Need Any Help With This?

If you ever need any assistance with an exercise or just have questions

Please feel free to call 214-702-3774 or email me


Additional Reading:


Grief and Rage: The Connection Between 4th and 1st Chakras 

Grief: The Shadow Side of the Heart Chakra 

Five Stages of Grief

Grief: Physical Symptoms, Effects on Body, Duration of Process